IDG Contributor Network: Learning from the PaaS

March 10, 2016 1:20 pm

Pin It

In 2009, the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) published a draft definition of cloud computing. The NIST definition, created for government agencies buying cloud services, simplified cloud computing into three types of services: 1) IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service), where vendors offer on-demand compute, network, and storage; 2) PaaS (Platform as a Service), where vendors provide application development frameworks and deployment tools; and 3) SaaS (Software as a Service) where vendors deliver entire applications.

While IaaS and SaaS are well understood and widely adopted, PaaS has lagged behind. But I expect a massive surge in platform adoption in the next few years.

To read this article in full or to leave a comment, please click here

InfoWorld Cloud Computing


Pin It

Posted in: Web Hosting News|Tags: , , , ,